Legislative Committee


  1. To follow legislative initiatives on the federal, state and local levels in a watchdog capacity and to function as a regional clearinghouse.
  2. To establish a mechanism to work with our elected representatives and regional planning agencies on matters of mutual concern with regard to libraries and their services.
  3. To advise the Board of Trustees and standing committees of the Council on the status and implications of current legislation.
  4. To develop a resource network to funnel grassroots information with regard to library legislation to interested parties.

Approved: June 21, 1984
Amended: October 17, 1985
Reaffirmed: December 7, 1999

 Committee Members

Tim Spindler, LILRC Representative

Samantha Alberts, ex officio, SCLA, Suffolk Cooperative Library System

Caroline Ashby, Nassau Library System

Kenneth Bellafiore, Freeport Memorial Library

Maureen Chiofalo, Chair

Arthur Friedman, Nassau Community College Library

Susan Goldberg, Elwood Public Library

Kevin McCoy, Suffolk County Community College Library- Ammerman

Frank McKenna, Seaford Public Library

Catherine Nashak, ex officio, NCLA, Uniondale Public Library

James Olney, Northport-East Northport Public Library

Deborah Podolski, Farmingdale Public Library

Joseph Pontecorvo, Island Park Public Library

Tracey Simon, Hewlett-Woodmere Public Library

Kevin Verbesey, Suffolk Cooperative Library System