Legislative Committee

CHARGE

  1. To follow legislative initiatives on the federal, state and local levels in a watchdog capacity and to function as a regional clearinghouse.
  2. To establish a mechanism to work with our elected representatives and regional planning agencies on matters of mutual concern with regard to libraries and their services.
  3. To advise the Board of Trustees and standing committees of the Council on the status and implications of current legislation.
  4. To develop a resource network to funnel grassroots information with regard to library legislation to interested parties.

Approved: June 21, 1984
Amended: October 17, 1985
Reaffirmed: December 7, 1999

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Herbert Biblo
LONG ISLAND LIBRARY RESOURCES COUNCIL
hbiblo@lilrc.org
631-675-1570
Samantha Alberts
SUFFOLK COOPERATIVE LIBRARY SYSTEM
samantha@suffolknet.org
631-286-1600
Caroline Ashby
NASSAU LIBRARY SYSTEM
cashby@nassaulibrary.org
516-292-8920
Kenneth Bellafiore
FREEPORT MEMORIAL LIBRARY
kbellafiore@freeportlibrary.info
516-379-3274
Maureen Chiofalo, Chair
maureenchiofalo@gmail.com
Arthur Friedman
NASSAU COMMUNITY COLLEGE
friedma@ncc.edu
516-572-7883
Susan Goldberg
ELWOOD PUBLIC LIBRARY
sgoldberg@elwoodlibrary.org.org
516-671-1837
Kevin McCoy
SUFFOLK COUNTY COMMUNITY COLLEGE LIBRARY
mccoykj@sunysuffolk.edu
631-451-4182
Frank McKenna
SEAFORD PUBLIC LIBRARY
seaforddirector@nassaulibrary.info
516-221-1334
Catherine Nashak
UNIONDALE PUBLIC LIBRARY
cnashak@uniondalelibrary.org
516-489-2220 X:237
James Olney
NORTHPORT-EAST NORTHPORT PUBLIC LIBRARY
jolney@suffolk.lib.ny.us
631-261-6930
Deborah Podolski
FARMINGDALE PUBLIC LIBRARY
516-249-9090 ext. 209
Joseph Pontecorvo
ISLAND PARK PUBLIC LIBRARY
islandparklibrary@yahoo.com
516-655-4848
Tracey Simon
HEWLETT-WOODMERE PUBLIC LIBRARY
tsimon@hwpl.org
516-599-8630
Kevin Verbesey
SUFFOLK COOPERATIVE LIBRARY SYSTEM
kverbese@suffolk.lib.ny.us
631-286-1600